We use cookies to constantly optimize our website by analyzing the site visits. For more information about the cookies we use and how to disable them, please see our Privacy Policy.









At a Glance

From 2014 the EU educational programme has been in operation, combining all anticipated fields of education under the new name Erasmus+. The EU Commission is allocating a budget of €14.7bn to cover a period of seven years.

SRH Hochschule der populären Künste (hdpk) has been participating in the ERASMUS Programme since 2014 and has signed the Erasmus University Charter for Higher Education.

It can be viewed here, and hdpk's ERASMUS Policy Statement can be viewed here.

Countries involved in the programme

In the Erasmus+ programme, a distinction is made between Programme Countries and Partner Countries. Only universities that are in Programme Countries and have received an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) have the right to make applications within Erasmus+. However, institutions in other countries are eligible to operate as partners in collaborative projects.

The following European countries are Erasmus+ Programme Countries:

Member states of the European Union

  • Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, The Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The United Kingdom

Candidate countries

  • Macedonia, Turkey EEA/EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway

EEA/EFTA countries

  • Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway

Support programmes The following support programmes are in operation:

ERASMUS+ gives students the opportunity to study in another European country and broaden their cultural horizons. They get to know the academic system of a foreign university, and benefit from their teaching and study methods.

Students are eligible for support for a period of study of between three and twelve months at a foreign host-university, once they have successfully completed their first year of studies and until their time of graduation.

The programme offers the following assistance to students:

  • a Mobility grant towards expenses resulting from being abroad
  • exemption from study fees at the host university
  • support during preparation for the period abroad
  • formal recognition of academic achievements abroad

ERASMUS also supports students in work placements at host institutions in foreign countries within Europe. (EU institutions, institutions that administer EU programmes, and diplomatic representatives of a student’s country of origin are excluded). This allows students to obtain work experience in an international context, and complement their academic qualification with acquired communication and collaboration skills, broadened horizons and new knowledge of other cultures and markets. Support is available for both mandatory and elective placements lasting between three and twelve months.

The programme offers the following assistance to students:

  • a monthly grant towards expenses resulting from being abroad
  • an EU work-placement contract between the university, companies and students
  • support during preparation for the period abroad; if required, participation in a preparatory ERASMUS intensive language course for less-common languages
  • support during the placement from nominated individuals at both the home university and the company where the placement is arranged
  • official recognition of achievements made during the time spent abroad

ERASMUS provides support for guest teaching staff at European partner universities (STA1) that hold an ERASMUS University Charter. Visiting academics strengthen the European dimension of their host university, add to what they themselves can offer as lecturers, and bring specialist knowledge to students who are unable or do not wish to study abroad. Development of collaborative study programmes across paired universities and the exchange of course content and teaching methods is promoted. The teaching visit must comprise at least five teaching-hours and may last for a maximum of six weeks.

Also possible is support for tuition given by employees of foreign companies at German universities (STA2), to further the collaboration between universities and the commercial sector.

The following example categories give an indication of who is eligible for support within the ST (STA und STT) programme:

  • tenured academics
  • other university teaching staff
  • employees of commercial companies, who work in scientific fields (Incoming)

The programme offers the following assistance to participants:

  • reimbursement of travel and subsistence costs (the maximum amount payable depends on the length of stay)

As a further measure to increase the internationalisation of universities, on-going education of university employees (both administrative and teaching staff) at European universities and at foreign businesses and institutions is possible.

The period abroad must last for a minimum of one week (five working days) and a maximum of six weeks; under certain circumstances, a period of less than one week may be eligible.

The STT programme is available to university staff from all areas within an institution, for example:

  • general and technical administration
  • library
  • departments/specialist areas
  • faculties
  • finance
  • international office
  • public relations
  • student advising
  • technology and technology transfercontinuing education 

The programme offers the following assistance to participants:

  • reimbursement of travel and subsistence costs (the maximum amount payable depends on the length of stay)

Liability Clause

This project is financed with the support of the European Commission. The responsibility for the content of this website is carried by the author alone; the European Commission is not liable for the the information displayed here.


If you have any further questions relating to the ERASMUS programmes, please contact:

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst
Nationale Agentur für EU-Hochschulzusammenarbeit

Kennedyallee 50
53115 Bonn

Tel.: +49(0)228/882-578
Fax: +49(0)228/882-555